Minutes of 2022 AGM

3rd March 2022

                                 THE ARTS SOCIETY TEME VALLEY



                           HELD AT THE LUDLOW ASSEMBLY ROOMS


                                      Wednesday 16th February 2022


  1. 1.    Chair’s Opening Remarks:


The Chairman welcomed all present.


  1. 2.     Apologies for Absence:


Hazel Garner-Jones, Ann Marriott, Geoff Neden.


A quorum was declared and the meeting continued.


  1. 3.    Presentation of the previous AGM Minutes dated 10.2.21 for approval


With one amendment of Ann Marriott added to Item 6 Election of Officers the Chairman asked for approval of the Minutes and by a show of hands these were accepted.


Proposed by:  Jeff Walker        Seconded by:  Judith Payling


  1. 4.    Matters Arising from the Minutes:


There were no matters arising.


  1. 5.    Chair’s Report:


The Chair’s End of Year Report had been posted on the website and circulated to all members via Mailchimp and post and copies were also available at the meeting.   She said she was standing down as Chair after a 4½  year period and thanked all members and the committee for their support during that time.


  1. 6.    Treasurer’s Report for the period ended 31st August 2021:


The report had been circulated to all members via the website, mailchimp and post prior to the meeting and copies of the accounts and report were available at the meeting.


The results for the period had been badly affected by the impact of Covid with membership down and a reduced subscription due to a restricted programme and the fact that no Study Days had been possible.   An increase in membership was vital and would be the subject of a number of future initiatives.


Robert Reed had examined the accounts.   As in previous years, this examination was thorough but not strictly an audit.   Mr Reed had signed the accounts with that proviso.


Proposal for acceptance of the accounts: 

Proposed by:   Avis Denny                              Seconded by:  Linda Henry


After a show of hands the Chairman declared the Accounts accepted which she then signed.


  1. 7.     Appointment of independent examiner for the 2021 – 2022 Accounts:


Mr. Reed was able to continue in this role and the Chairman thanked him but had to confirm his appointment for 2021 - 2022


Proposed by:   The Committee            Seconded by:  Ann Ripley


  1. 8.    Election of Officers:


The constitution provides that the committee should nominate four key officers:


Chair:  Vacancy

Treasurer:  Jeff Walker

Administrative Secretary:  Vacancy

Membership Secretary:  Jeff Walker


Jeff Walker is willing to stand again for office


Proposed by:  Victoria Wright              Seconded by:  Wendy McCracken


Accepted by a show of hands.


Caroline Jamison and Judith Payling  are willing to stand as Co-Chairs.


Proposed by:  Linda Henry                  Seconded by:  Jeff Walker


Accepted by a show of hands.


  1. 9.     Election of Committee Members:


Linda Henry, Programme Secretary

Geoff Neden, Website Manager

Ann Marriott, Publicity Manager

Avis Denny, Study Day Secretary

Ruth Turner


Proposed by:  Lesley Shew           Seconded by:  Jenny Walker


Accepted by a show of hands.



There are four new members willing to act as committee members, all of whom have been proposed and seconded:


Susan Ashman

Jacqueline Cole

Margaret Cartwright

Wendy McCracken


By a show of hands all were accepted.


  1. 10.  Any Other Business


There was no other business.


  1. 11.  Date of Next AGM


19th October 2022. 




The meeting closed at 4pm.